Welcome back everybody! I realize it’s been a long time since I last posted on here.  I’ve been extremely busy with work, staying in shape, studying, and coaching middle school football.  Well, my first season coaching has recently ended and I now have a few minutes a day to read and write about college basketball! I apologize for the long wait on a new post and I hope to be posting more regularly now that my football season has come to a close. 

The topic that’s been on my mind recently is the rumor that Missouri may leave the Big 12 (should be known as the Big 10 now) and join allegiance with the SEC!  Honestly, I think this is absolutely ridiculous.  Now, I’ve always been and always will be a fan and supporter of the Big Ten.  But, I can’t refuse the fact that the Big 12 has some rich history in it’s short existence.  Having produced multiple championship contenders not only in football (mainly Texas), Basketball (mostly Texas and Kansas and some would argue Oklahoma?), and in baseball (again mainly Texas). 

I love the competitive nature of the Big 12. The history of the schools and the heated rivalries amongst the schools within the conference.  Missouri is playing with fate if they’re actually considering making this move.  Yeah, it may (and this is a huge may) increase football commits from recruits but I highly doubt they’ll have any success on the football field in the SEC within the next 20-25 years.  As for basketball, which I feel Missouri is better known for, this move will only hurt them. 

Okay, so Missouri does make the move and they gain an additional $12 million a year in revenue from conference TV agreements….SO WHAT!?!  Money can not buy you a national championship…..I suppose my last statement is debatable. I guess you could build better facilities with that money or hire better coaching staffs…or even pay recruits more money to get them to sign! However, I just see Missouri leaving the Big 12 for the SEC to be a huge mistake. 

Here’s my thinking. Let’s just say for this post that Missouri is in the SEC.  They’re on their recruiting term (let’s say for football).  They’re recruiting and each recruit brings up the fact that Alabama, Florida, and all these other power houses are in the same conference and the odds of them winning a conference championship are slim to none.  Whose going to argue that their chances to win a conference championship in football is more likely to happen in the Big 12? Not many people. 

Now let’s move to basketball, which is why we’re all here.  I see Missouri making the move from a very well respected, competitive, and national power conference to a weak, and not very well respected basketball conference. If you want to argue that the SEC is a respected basketball conference look at all the bubble teams from last year’s field that didn’t make the big dance, especially Alabama. One of the top ranked defenses and didn’t make it.  You’re a basketball recruit being talked to by Missouri and they’re feeding you their speil and you say, “you know what? The Kansas rivalry just isn’t the same without the conference on the line.  If for some reason we don’t win outright the conference we may not be given a chance in the Tournament to prove ourselves due to our presence in the SEC. I’m going to need more time”.  Then you end up signing with another school outside of the of SEC and in the Big 12….good job Missouri. 

Overall I think the move is a bad idea for Missouri. It would be certain basketball suicide. But, obviously the school officials know more than what any of us know and whatever their decision may be will probably be a good one…at least I hope. 

Thank you for reading and I look forward to hearing some feedback and comments!

It’s good to be back!

