It’s very disappointing to write this post, as I’m a Purdue fan.  However, I think I have to bite the bullet and explain why Purdue was eliminated and failed to make the Sweet 16.

  1. Purdue played shitty defense Sunday night.  VCU shot about 60% from the field. Purdue played with zero authority on either end of the floor. Their is no way VCU should have scored 94 points! Purdue’s defense is what carried them through the season and led to their 26 wins.  Along with playing with zero authority Purdue played without a sense of intensity or urgency.  They also looked extremely slow and it seemed as if they had their feet stuck in cement for the entire game.  They played like they were scared as well as lost.
  2. Not only did they not play defense they didn’t make easy layups or open shots.  Yeah they shot 45% from the field but there were way too many times when Purdue had easy layups that they missed, and they didn’t have anybody crashing the boards because they should’ve been easy 2-pointers.  Disappointing to be a Purdue fan tonight.
  3. Just like on the defensive end Purdue played with zero intensity or authority on the offensive end.  JaJuan Johnson didn’t go hard to the rim and expected to get calls.  They didn’t deserve them the way they “attacked” the rim. I use attack lightly because that’s the complete opposite of what they were doing.
  4. Overall, Purdue played lousy basketball
  5. E’Twaun Moore didn’t show up.  He only scored 10 points on 5 field goals. He didn’t attempt a free throw and was 0-3 from behind the arc.

    Moore's subpar 10 point game isn't how the senior expected to leave Purdue

  6. JaJuan Johnson needed more help from his Senior pal E’Twaun.  Johnson had 25 points but wasn’t a presence on the defensive end of the floor like he was all year.
  7. Ryne Smith couldn’t do it by himself.  He had 20 points but needed help from his teammates to set him screens to get him more open looks.
  8. Just a thought here: If I was Robbie Hummel I would kill E’Twaun Moore and JaJuan Johnson.  The senior leader was in tears at the end of the game and I strongly believe that Robbie cares more than Johnson and Moore combined.
  9. Moore and Johnson leave Purdue as two of the top 5 scorers in Purdue history

    Moore and Johnson may have been seeing dollar signs, they sure played like they didn’t care and without heart (I can’t say that too positively though, I’m angry/disappointed/heated, I’ll most likely retract these harsh statements later).

  10. VCU played one hell of a game and I take nothing away from the Rams.  I’ll be on your side the rest of the way.  Good Luck to the VCU Rams.

Although this is a disappointing loss I look forward to next year.  Robbie Hummel says he’ll be back and I like the guys already on the squad, plus we have some really good looking freshman coming in.  Yeah, we lose E’Twaun Moore and JaJuan Johnson but they’re moving on to bigger things and I think their hearts might be in other places now.  I wish them both luck in their future endeavors.

Rodriguez's double-double helped VCU topple Purdue enroute to the sweet 16

