The first two actual days aren’t even at a close yet and its already been a crazy 2nd (round of 64) round.  Here I’m going to share my thoughts on what made certain teams successful up to this point and what hurt some teams.

Morehead State

Kenneth Faried led the Eagles this season with 17.5 ppg.

Whoever called Morehead St. over Louisville is either lucky or knew something the rest of us didn’t know.  I’m running a poll and not one person picked Morehead St to advance.  I didn’t watch this game (and if I did I was too busy celebrating St. Patricks Day).  I was certain that Coach Pitino would have his guys motivated and ready to go for in the state match up.  I guess I was wrong. But that’s why I love March Madness!I’m sure Dick Vitale is shaking is head after picking Louisville to go the Final Four!

Richmond

I’m sure a lot of people had Richmond and honestly that wasn’t too much of a surprise.  The Spiders knocked off my Boilermakers at the beginning of the season (at a neutral site) so I knew the Spiders could play some ball.  I look forward to seeing them advance to the Sweet 16.  Richmond needs to stay hot from behind the arc against Morehead St. I think if they can do that they’ll advance pretty easily to set up a possible match up with Kansas.

Cincinnati

Yancy Gates has been the Bearcats go to man all season. In order for Cincy to be successful Gates needs to bring his A game

The Bearcats played one heck of a game yesterday.  I watched parts of and was very impressed.  Yancy Gates took his game to a new level and helped is team advance to the next round.  I find it funny that this victory for the Bearcats was considered by most an upset.  They are a 6 seed playing an 11.  Personally I had Mizzou winning and after that game I realize that I was very wrong.  The Big East match up against Uconn should be fun to watch.  If I remember correctly the last time these two teams played Uconn rallied late in the game to come back against the Bearcats in Cincy.  Look out for the Bearcats in the next round.  I think they’re playing well enough to possibly catch an exhausted Huskies team off guard and pull of the so called upset.

Michigan

Tim Hardaway Jr. is Michigan's leader. Look for him to give his team a lift against the Blue Devils

How about those Wolverines! Or should we ask what happened to Tennessee? I know they were going through all that crap about Coach Pearl but come on.  A 9 seed getting beat by 30 points in the 1st round is unacceptable.  Good job Selection Committee, another terrible job.  Give props to Michigan though for coming out and shooting the ball very well and playing some good tough defense.  I don’t have much hope for Michigan against Duke but boy will I be rooting for the Wolverines.

Purdue

Of course I have to mention Purdue.  The game is currently on and they’re about 4 minutes into the first half.  I’m interested to see how they play without Kelsey Barlow.  As of right now they are playing really shitty.  I’m not pleased with their 4-2 lead going into the under 16 minute time out.  I’m sure my Boilers will pull through and end up winning but they’re making it tough on themselves with poor shot selection.  They are settling for jump shots which is by no means their game.  They need to work the shot clock and either get into the paint and kick out for the open 3 or drive to the rim and draw some fouls.  That way I can watch the game in a sense of ease instead of anticipation and nervousness….that would be great.  As the game progresses I have a feeling Purdue will settle down and start going inside to JaJuan Johnson, which has been their game and success all year. 

Terone Johnson's name will be called to fill in Kelsey Barlow's place. So far the true freshman has played well and stepped up to the occasion.

It’s currently halftime during the Purdue game and I’m please with their 16 point lead.  Lewis Jackson and Terone Johnson have stepped it up and have played well this half.  Which is great news for the Boilermakers. Keep in an eye for John Hart to get some minutes as both teams start wearing down as the game goes along. I guess Hart was injured after hurting his ankle yesterday in practice.  Disregard anything I said about Hart being an impact this game.  Purdue won impressively but I’m very critical of their play.  I feel like they played too sloppy and could have taken care of the pace and ball better.  Hopefully they can clean their act up in the next round(s).

