The Pittsburgh Panthers is another team that meets the criteria of a National Championship team.  You should know the criteria by now but if you don’t no worries. I’ll tell what they are right now:

  1. Team must have at least a 10 game win streak at some point during the season.
  2. Team’s victories must average double digit margin.  +10 points/victory
  3. Team must have been ranked in the preseason top 10

Pitt’s Preseason rank: 5 (I ran into a problem with this.  From the information I have Ohio State is said to have also been preseason ranked #5.  If anyone can help me out with this that would be great.)

Pitt’ MoV: 16.4

Pitt’s record: 26-4 (14-3 Big East)

RPI: 7

I’m not going to act like I know a whole bunch about the Panthers.  I do know that all of their losses are against tough opponents (Tennessee, Notre Dame, St. John’s, and Louisville).  All of those teams are/were ranked at some point this season.  They say that the Big East Conference is the toughest basketball conference this year, that could be true and I will not refute that claim here. I have not had the time to look at each team individually and their RPI’s and key wins/losses but I’m flabbergasted that the Big East might get 11 teams in the tournament.  I will thoroughly enjoy watching the Big East get knocked off fairly quickly in the first two rounds, and of course with that many teams in the tournament somebody has got to get past the Elite 8 and I’m confidently positive that Pittsburgh is the Big East team that has the best shot at making the Final Four.  Some might say well that’s easy to call.  No kidding.  I think the Big East has so many teams eligible and ranked because other big time conferences are down (mainly the ACC).  But, Pitt’s season team stats are very impressive considering the “level” of competition they supposedly play.  They rank in the top 50 in the nation in the following categories; Points per game, Assists per game, Rebounds per game, and team Field Goal % (46th, 7th, 3rd, 23rd respectively).  I’m not a math major but that’s incredible!

Like I said, I do not know very much about Pitt even though I wish I did.  The numbers only sometimes lie and with their numbers I can see them making it to the Final Four.  But, just like any other team they could be upset.  Which keeps the game and especially the tournament exciting!

If you know more about Pitt please fill free to leave comments about them and your opinions on how far they will go in the upcoming March Madness Tournament.

