Kansas also made the cut that the analysts from College Basketball Final laid out.  Kansas has all of the following met;

  1. A 10 game win streak at some point during the season.
  2. Margin of victory averaging over 10 points a victory
  3. Were in top 10 in the preseason rankings.

Kansas Preseason rank: 7

Kansas MoV: 20.9 (Most out of the 5 teams)

Kansas Record: 28-2 (13-2 Big 12)

Kansas RPI: 1

I’ve always liked Kansas and from when I can remember I’ve always been a fan.  I think my Love for Kansas developed when I was 6 and saw their mascot. I thought it was cool.  Good program to become a fan of right? Anyway, Kansas is one of the toughest teams this year in College Basketball.  Look at their team stats as well; 83.1 ppg (4th overall), Rebounds/game 38 (38th overall), They are 1st in the nation in both Assists/game =18.3 and Field Goal %= .521.  Being ranked in the top 10 for any category is good. Being ranked in the top 10 for 3 of those including two #1’s?  That’s just insane.  Kansas has the ability to put points on the board in a hurry and they don’t do it selfishly.  That’s why Kansas is my favorite to win the National Title this year.  Bill Self is a great coach and always seems to know when to call a timeout or when to let his guys play.  When timeouts are called I think Bill Self’s squad is the best coached in the country.  Not only that they seem to play intelligently 99% of the game.  That’s hard to get out of a bunch of 18-23 year olds.

The Morris twins. Marcus and Markieff

As mentioned above Kansas has the highest MoV of the 5 teams that made the cut.  Winning by 20.9 points per game is ridiculous.  Some might argue then, “Well they must not play anybody”.  If you’re one of those people I’ll inform you.  Kansas is in the Big 12, not a push over conference to say the least.  And!!!!! Their RPI is 1.  That means they are playing the toughest opponents of anyone in the land! Kansas blows my mind this year.  I’m not sure how they’ve lost two games but you have to give mad props and credit to both the Texas Longhorns and the Kansas State Wildcats.

Markieff and Marcus Morris are the obvious leaders on this years squad and I think they’re pretty pissed about being upset last year by #9 seed Northern Iowa.  They’ll have this team ready to go like they have all year, except for two slip ups, and do some serious damage in this years March Madness Tournament.  They’re my pick to win it all.

