As mentioned earlier today Duke was 1 of the 5 teams that have met the criteria for being a National Champion.  If you’ve forgotten what the criteria were I’ll remind you promptly:

  1. Team must have at least a 10 game winning streak at some point during the season
  2. Team’s Margin of Victory must average double digits. So +10 points/victory
  3. Team must have been ranked in the preseason top 10

Duke’s preseason rank: 1

Duke’s MoV (Margin of Victory): 20.7

Duke’s Record: 27-3 (13-2 ACC)

Duke’s RPI: 4

At the beginning of the season I thought Duke was a very impressive team.  They have two wins over 40 points (46 and 52).  I realize these wins were against bad teams but give some credit for playing some D and making shots/layups/and free throws.  As of late though I have lost a lot of confidence in Duke.  They’ve lost to Florida State whose a tournament hopeful, Virgina Tech who I think is one of the first four out as of right now, and St. Johns.  Florida State is a good team and I know when you’re expected to win every game and you lose people point fingers.  I’ll give Florida State credit of a well played game and not bash the Dukies for a loss that was bound to happen.  Virginia Tech was looking good for a little bit and making a case for themselves to the selection committee but this loss was unimpressive to say the least.  As for the St. Johns loss, who hasn’t St. Johns beat?  Enough said on Duke’s losses.  Their very few and not much to fuss about.  I think Duke’s success is in the hands of Nolan Smith and Kyle Singler, obviously.

Coach Krzyzewski

Coach K needs these two to step up and be the leaders they can be.  The loss of Kyrie Irving dampers their ability to win title.  I see Duke making it to at least the Elite 8 and think they’ll make the Final Four, but that’s the end of the road for the Blue Devils.  Like I said in a previous post, predictions are just predictions.  It’s great when you get them right but when you’re wrong who really cares, unless you’re betting on the games….That’s just wrong anyway! I look for Coach K to have his team ready to perform well but not able to prevail and win another title.

I’m interested in hearing what other people have to say and their opinions on how far they think Duke will make in this year’s March Madness Tournament!

