Some of you may think my posts are very sporadic and inconsistent. I would have to agree wholeheartedly.  Please keep in mind that I’m busy with classes, work, working out, and random shenanigans that college students find themselves partaking in throughout the week.  I’ll reiterate that I do watch a lot of college basketball when I can and usually only write about stories/issues/players/or teams that catch my interest at any given moment.  This next post was inspired by College Basketball Final on ESPN that I was watching during the early hours of March 3, 2011.  It was around 1AM in the morning and I was folding my laundry about to pass out at any second.  Then out of nowhere they started talking about the criteria a National Champion must meet.  According to College Basketball Final the past 10 or so championships have met these requirements/criteria.

Many of you may be wondering to yourself, what could the criteria be needed to win a National Championship????? Well I’ll tell you.  1) Must have at least a 10 game win streak at some point during the season.  2) Margin of Victory must is in the double digits {+10}.  and 3) Must have been ranked in the preseason top 10.  Only 5 teams made the cut.  The 5 teams that have the best shot at winning the National Championship, according to College Basketball Final, are Duke, Pittsburgh, Kansas, Ohio State, and Purdue.  When Jay Williams (former Duke point guard and National Champion) was asked who he thought was going to be cutting down the nets in April he responded, “I’m going with the Boilermakers”.

 

I’m not necessarily sure I agree with Jay Williams but I like his answer a whole bunch.  He also gave some pretty good reasons as to why Purdue has a good shot at winning the title.  As a Purdue fan I really hope he’s right. But, as you all know predictions and whatnot are only that.  Each team has a shot if they make the field of 68.  I’ve done my homework and have compiled the most accurate up to date stats for the 5 teams that I could find.  I’m going to be posting my thoughts and findings on each team separately so keep you eyes open and please post some feedback on what you think as well.

Thank you all for reading!

