Tomorrow’s match up between the Purdue Boilermakers and the Indiana Hoosiers should be a good one…for Purdue fans that is.  Fans of both teams anticipate the match up for weeks to come.  (I know I sure have).  Usually it’s a good game but I fear tomorrow may entail a different story.  I feel bad for the Hoosiers and even worse for their fans.  No matter how terrible either team has been in the past it could be counted on that both teams would bring their best to the court to give the fans an exciting game to watch, and the winning team bragging rights until the next math up.

However, tomorrow I think the Boilers will run the Hoosiers off the court and embarrass them in their home stadium.  I’ve made it clear in previous posts that I’m a huge Boilermaker fan.  It’s hard to stay unbiased when writing about either Purdue or the Hoosiers (given their rivalry, I have a natural born hate  {but respect} for IU).  But, in this case I think it’s hard to ignore the numbers and the facts that surround tomorrow nights upcoming game.

I’ll start with IU (so that I can end on a more positive note).  IU is currently on a 4 game skid.  Not only are they on a 4 game loosing streak but their losses have come to subpar, but improving, teams.  These teams include Northwestern, Iowa, Michigan and They lost to then ranked #12 Purdue last time they met on February 8th.  Three of these teams are in the bottom half of the Big Ten including two of those teams currently 9th and 11th in the conference.  IU had an impressive streak….. to start the season that is. Since then IU has slowly gone down hill and will be lucky to survive the rest of the season.  I think the only chance IU really has tomorrow night is riding their home court advantage……..for as long as they can.  Granted that this is a rivalry game the Hoosiers could possibly pull out a  heroic upset and stun the nation.  Unfortunately, I don’t see that happening for Hoosier fans.  And here’s why,

Purdue, opposite of IU, is on a 4 game winning streak.  Which began with a win against IU on the 8th of February.  Purdue’s last two victories have come against two top 10 teams, #10 Wisconsin and most recently #3 Ohio State. Purdue is right in contention for the Big Ten Conference Championship, as co-champs, if Ohio State looses one of its next 4 games and Purdue wins out.  Purdue is hot, in contention for the conference championship, and it’s a rivalry game.  Purdue will be looking to continue their hot streak and their hopes for another share of the Big Ten Title. Some more high notes for Purdue are these; During their 4 game streak PU is averaging 73.5 points per game, Purdue is holding their opponents to only 62 ppg, and E’Twaun Moore is averaging 25.5 ppg and during their two wins against Wisconsin and Ohio State E’Twaun is averaging 33.5 points per game.

I think it’s pretty hard to ignore the HOT streak that Purdue is on and the downward spiral IU is on.  I hope that for the sake of basketball and the respect and enjoyment of a good basketball game Indiana somehow plays a great game.  I’m two for two in previous projections of scores (Purdue over Minnesota by 12, wrong the exact score, and Purdue by 8 over Wisconsin. Both games were in West Lafayette). So here is where I most likely get it wrong but I really don’t care as long as Purdue wins.  My prediction, Purdue over IU by 14.  It’ll probably be closer than that and we can only hope! Good luck to both teams…

