This Saturday the Boilermakers host the Gophers.  Purdue almost came away with a win at Minnesota on January 13th.  However, Purdue couldn’t quite pull out the win and fell short 70-67.  I look for Purdue to redeem itself this weekend as they host the Gophers.  The Big Ten is a very tough conference to win on the road and teams play really well and are tough to beat at home.

I will actually be at the Purdue game. I’m making the 5 hour drive from southern Wisconsin to visit my sister and to cheer on the Boilermakers as they take down the Gophers.  I’m also bringing my best friend who coincidentally is from Minneapolis, Minnesota.  We’ll be sitting in the student section and in my spare time I’ll be making sure he’s not being killed for wearing Gopher apparel.

But this game is very important for Purdue.  Yeah, it would be awesome going to see this game live just after a win in Columbus against the #1 ranked Buckeyes but that didn’t happen.  For me I’ll be looking to see how the Boilers react after such a blowout loss on Tuesday night.  This is only my second Purdue game that I’ll catch in person and I’m really looking forward to it.  But, I would be lying if I said I wasn’t just a little bit nervous to see how Purdue plays.

Don’t be mistaken.  I still have confidence in my Boilermakers and still think with a little help from the rest of the conference (mainly Minnesota and Wisconsin) and winning out I think the Boilers still have a chance to be co-conference champs…again.  I think coming back home will be good for the Boilers and a good game is in store.  I look for Purdue to put on a defensive show and shut down the Gophers.  I think it will be a slightly low scoring game unless both teams decide not to play defense.  I predict the Boilermakers to walk away with a 65-53 win.

I “CAN’T WAIT!” to get to West Lafayette to watch my Purdue Boilermakers get back on the right track!

