It certainly was a cold night in Michigan Tuesday night.  As the Wisconsin Badgers traveled to neighboring state Michigan to face the Michigan State Spartans in a Big Ten battle.

Michigan State started off rather slow and the Badgers jumped out and took an early lead that lasted up until the final remaining minutes of the game.  It looked as if Bo Ryan and his Badgers were going to accomplish their sixth straight win over the Spartans.  Suddenly the Spartans made some huge baskets and tied the score as the final seconds came to a close sending the game into overtime.

Michigan State ended up winning 64-61 in impressive fashion. The Spartans so far have been a team of huge confusion.  Now their record sits at 11-5, not bad, but they dropped what should have been a rather easy game against Penn State earlier this week.  I’m not taking anything away from the Nittany Lions, as I’ve said they’re a team that can make things interesting in the Big Ten.  And, I continue to respect and have high regards for the Spartans. Tom Izzo always has a tough team and they know how to win big games.  And boy did they need a big win tonight against Wisconsin.

The Spartans did an excellent job on the defensive side of the ball all game long and held Jon Leuer to only 10 points the entire game.  I think this was their key to success tonight.  As a Purdue fan I wasn’t quite sure which team I wanted to win tonight and decided that seeing a good game is what I wanted to see.  I got what I wanted and was also able to do a bit of scouting for some upcoming games against the Boilers.  I think both teams could give Purdue some trouble with their big men and lack of depth at the big man position.  However, I think match-ups at the 1-3 positions are going to be fun to watch.  I still think Michigan State will finish second (Possibly tie for first) in the Big Ten and Wisconsin in the top 3.  Overall I saw really good things from both teams tonight. Yes, they both have much room to grow and improve but by Big Ten tourney time I think Wisconsin will still take that title and I look for both teams to make deep runs in March!

